Motorcycle Club » Star 1100 Classic & Custom

1100 vibration 60-70 mph

27 posts from 15 voices
About This Topic
  1. prikkz
    #

I've been renting Harley's (HSTC) for three years now and am looking to buy a used (2002) 1100 Classic. I really like the styling and, with three kids in college, I need to get into riding as cheaply as possible. Unfortunately, Yamaha doesn't rent bikes so I haven't had much time on one of these. My friends all ride 1400-1700 cc Harley's and cruise 65-75 mph. I test rode a 2007 1100 Classic the other day and it was great until I got up to 60, then a vibration set in like the kind that massages your feet at a Brookstone store. Someone advised that that is typical of a Yamaha of that size because it is working pretty hard at that speed, and that I should move up to a Road Star if I'm going to be cruising with my friends. Is this vibration typical? I would think it would get annoying after a while. Any input would be appreciated. BTW, my friends have no problem with me riding a Yamaha amongst their Harley's. It's all about the ride.

2. yaro
    #

I would say it is "normal". A lot guys including me wish there was a 6th gear on that bike.

3. wzdartan
    #

Sync. the carbs. Vibration at highway speeds can be a typical symptom of the carbs. being out of sync. on these bikes. Good luck.
    Dan

4. yohntoe1
    #

i road a vstar 1100 for 4 years and just traded it for a 06 roadstar 1700.
    let me tell you about the 1100....its a fine bike first off .but after riding with my harley buds i was left in the dust and wanting more power.
    mind you my bike was no slouch
    slip on cobras
    maxair air kit
    maxair jet kit
    but if your riding with the big harleys you will want more power.
    up around 70 and above the 1100 does have vibration.....and at that speed even with my mods it felt like i was really pushing the bike .at 80 mph you feel like the bike is screaming in the revs.