Motorcycle Club » Star 1100 Classic & Custom

03 1100 custom

9 posts from 5 voices
About This Topic
  1. DocHolitaj34
    #

Hi,
    I have a 03 1100 custom, it had a hypercharger and cobra pipes, 3 inch slash, installed by the PO. He didn't ride the bike very much; it only had 2500 miles when I bought it. Anyway the work was done at the Yamaha shop in Corbin, Ky where he bought the bike and when I bought it from him it ran great!!!! I have ridden the thing about 4000 miles and now it backfires when I decelerate, not always but some, it occasionally backfires when I accelerate. All and all just runs rough, also very noisy, it always has been though. By noisy I mean a clicking sound coming from? somewhere. I know this is vague but this is pretty much what I am getting from the bike and it confuses me too, I am not a novice either, I have a background in engineering. This is however my first Yamaha. If anyone can help I appreciate it, I post once this morning under subject new in town and it doesn't seem to be getting much traffic. I really just don't know any other v star people; I hope this forum changes that.
    Thanks, Doc
    PS I'm sure it was properly rejetted when the work was done, it ran to good to start with and the guy who had it was very particular. Oh and the AIS is on the bike, I disabled it once, didn't seem to make a difference so I hooked it back up.

2. poppj
    #

They all make noise....mine is alot more quiet since i changed to a full synthetic oil....mobil 1 v twin or amsoil are two good full synthetics....i am sure they rejetted.....check plugs.....maybe you got some bad gas......many people on this forum use sea foam in the gas from time to time....it cleans fuel lines, plugs, etc....i have used it many times with great results....it is the first gas additive that works.....bob

3. poppj
    #